Still alive….ish

Posted on Updated on

I know, I know. I’ve been gone for quite some time.

I’m sorry! Things! Life! Stuff!

I have no idea where I left off with life.

Well, it seems that the last thing you really knew about the happenings in my life was that I was taking a watercolor class. That was August. December starts on Saturday.

Ooops!

Here’s what you missed on me! (Get it? to the tune of ‘Here’s what you missed on Glee’ except I stopped watching Glee when it got ridiculous and the music started to suck with the occasional good song or 3 every 5th episode.)

So I live in Berkeley now. I moved here in August. It’s awesome. It takes me less time to get t work now than it did when I lived in the Sunset. I have a yard. We have a dog. My roommates rock. We’ve all been wicked busy.

My friend paid for me to take bartending classes, so I did that. Now I bartend. I just started. It’s at the bar where I used to park myself all the time to watch hockey.

There is no hockey now, but its OK because I’ve been busy working 3 jobs. Yup, you heard me. 3. I want to write a post about the fact that I have an engineering degree and amazing work experience and right now I’m working 3 PT jobs at minimum wage or just above. I’ll get there.

So yeah, bartending. What else? Event staff at the SF Conservatory of Flowers. Love this job. It’s seriously amazing. Love who I work with, the events are fun and I get to spend time in the Conservatory.

I also work retail. I used to sell skin care products. The line was amazing. All organic and everything like that. Locally made, all that fun jazz. The owner is a psychopath so I quit. She yelled at me for giving her a months’ notice. That was fun. I mean, I’m legitimately concerned about her mental health. So are the rest of her employees. I got a job at the store RIGHT next door. It is awesome.

Her new employee told me she doesn’t know how long she can work for a crazy person. And that is why she hasn’t had anyone stay for more than 6 months to a year.

So there we go. Event staff, bartending, and retail. To everyone out there who has never done these things, man it’s hard work. I now have more respect. I mean I always kind of understood how much hard work it is, but now I completely understand. Especially knowing that if those people aren’t in school, they probably have at least one other job. If they have at least one other job you had better believe it means they are on their feet for more than 8 or 9 hours a day. Also, they have to deal with a lot of crap.

If you take anything away from this here post it is this: Be nice to retail associates and bartenders. Even if they aren’t that nice to you. They probably just worked a double shift and are exhausted and some part of their body is probably swollen. Though some people are just awful people, but you can usually tell the difference. Also don’t yell at someone for things not being on sale. 98% of the time, they have nothing to do with the pricing.

Love life? Ha! I don’t even have any good hilarious stories… I’ve deactivated the old OK Cupid account. Non stop ridiculousness message wise from dudes that clearly had not read my profile and realized that there was 0 amounts of attraction or anything in common other than the fact that we both breath oxygen.

Oh! and I guess a huge thing to mention.

I’m applying to graduate school. 2 years after graduating, I’ve realized that I miss it more than I did when I first graduated. But now at least I sort of know what I want to do. I’m applying to 2 separate programs, but both of which I’m extremely passionate about. I’ll keep you posted. The first application is due on December 3rd. It is ridiculously soon. I also need to come up with $200 for application fees. I’m hoping I can sweet talk admissions into waiving my fee.

Now I’m just thinking out loud into this here blog post.

My mom is coming to visit this coming weekend! I haven’t seen her since March. In March, I saw her for 5 hours tops. Before March, I saw her when she took me to the airport to move here. She has never been to San Francisco. I’m very excited. Alas, it is supposed to rain the entire time she is here. I hope weather.com is lying to me! (it probably is)

Time to get my butt out of bed, in some clothes, and to a cafe.

Personal statements, Hooray! If anyone has any advice for grad school (good solid advice) please share! Oh and I hope you all had a lovely Thanksgiving!

I had an OK one. I actually ended up getting a Migraine. I felt it coming on in the morning. It was getting worse as the dinner prep and everything went on and I blew it with this adorable Scottish guy because it threw me off my game.

Such is life!

Speaking of life, go see The Perks of Being A Wallflower. It’s amazing.

Now I’m really done. Goodbye!

Oh Oh oh! Since I’m telling you what to watch, I should tell you what to read, too. Start with The Magicians by Lev Grossman and pick up The Magician King by Grossman as well. It’s the second book. You won’t be disappointed. You can find that in the adult sci fi/fantasy section of any library or bookstore. Go Local!

2 thoughts on “Still alive….ish

    Nae said:
    November 25, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    I LOVED Perks of Being a Wallflower – saw it with a girlfriend on a Saturday and took the boy back Sunday with me. So, so good. Keep up the awesome work – in those three jobs, you must have tons of stories 🙂

      paperballpotluck responded:
      November 25, 2012 at 5:49 pm

      Its so amazing, isn’t it!! Have you read it?

      It made me miss Pittsburgh.

      Haha I wish i did! not yet. I’m sure i’ll get some stories bartending. No good retail stories yet, just people that get angry about silly things. Less of that where I work now though.

      Oh! At the conservatory, A bride’s mother in law tried to punch her after the ceremony. We were warned by the bride and groom that their families were a bit intense before the wedding started.

Leave a Reply

