Movie activity update – June & July

Posted on

Back in January I published two posts concerning movies in 2012 – one was a list of movies I wanted to see in theaters and one was a list of movies that I wanted to see, but wasn’t sure if I would spend money on them.

I have an update! And then I have more movies to talk about!

My 2012 progress so far:

Theater

Most of the movies on this list aren’t out yet. These are the two that are or were:

The Hunger Games – Twice ( A )
Pirates! Band of Misfits – sadly didn’t get a chance to see it

I also saw The Avengers. It was awesome. I saw it twice. I love Joss Whedon.

And I want to see Chernobyl Diaries.

Not in Theaters

Anything not listed I either haven’t seen yet or its not released.

Cabin In The Woods – Saw this in Theaters (B+)
The Woman In Black – Theaters (B-) It was really strange to see Daniel Radcliff playing someone who was clearly 20 years older than he actually is. I think they could have either wrote his background better or chosen a different actor who actually looks like he is old enough to have a kid and a wife.
The InnkeepersC-
The Lorax – Theaters! A-

Lastly, things not yet out on this list that I will probably see in theaters:

Prometheus
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Brave
The Bourne Legacy
World War Z

Moving on to new stuff

Every few months I go through the list of movies coming out on IMDB by Month. As  you know, and if you don’t know you will now, not every movie coming out for the year is listed there in January. New releases are added all the time. The remainder of this post will be movies that are now listed that weren’t before for the next few months and reasons why I’m pumped for them.

Safety Not Guaranteed

I wanted to see this just looking at the cast list! You have Aubrey Plaza from Parks and Rec, Jake Johnson from New Girl, and Mark Duplass from The League. Three hilarious people put together into one quirky movie about a trio of people who work for a magazine who answer an ad for a guy searching for someone to travel back in time with him. The idea is that they want Darius (Plaza) to pose as a chick willing to take up the post as the ad answerer so that they can get an interview with the guy and see what he is up to. At first the trailer leads you to believe this would just be some silly comedy, but there is something deeper going on with Duplass’ character. I was drawn in. Again, I love the cast. Mark Duplass has another movie coming out in June as well – he’s been busy when not vying for the Shiva!

I’m going to try to catch this in theaters, though it is a limited release so I’ll have to venture into town.

Your Sisters Sister

I was originally drawn into this because of Mark Duplass. If you don’t know who he is, watch The League. He’s a funny and loveable scruffy man and he has not one, but two movies coming out soon. Here is the IMDB summary – “Iris (Emily Blunt) invites her friend Jack (Mark Duplass) to stay at her family’s island getaway after the death of his brother. At their remote cabin, Jack’s drunken encounter with Hannah (Rosmarie DeWitt), Iris’ sister, kicks off a revealing stretch of days. ”

Looks cute and funny. Definitely something I would watch if I felt like watching a chick flick. I’m not an avid watcher of the typical chick type movies where the girl just pines after a guy or has a hard time balancing work and some hot dude and she thinks she is too ugly or whatever. You know what I’m talking about. Every chick flick has the same basic story. I’m not entirely certain I will see this in theaters as it is a limited release. Therefore the theater near me that is easy to get to and cheap matinees probably won’t show it. I might make the trip into the nearest larger theater for a Matinee. We’ll see!

Trailer

Seeking a Friend for the End of the World

This summer/year is full of quirky independent films and I love it. Here is the summary from IMDB “As an asteroid nears Earth, a man (Steve Carrell) finds himself alone after his wife leaves in a panic. He decides to take a road trip to reunite with his high school sweetheart. Accompanying him is a neighbor (Keira Knightly) who inadvertently puts a wrench in his plan. ”

Also including Gillian Jacobs aka Brita from Community. I thinks he has a tiny part, but I will enjoy it because Community is a rockin’ show. The movie is directed by Lorene Scafaria who directed Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist – which was fantastic. If you haven’t seen it, you definitely should. Even if you hate Michael Cera.

Ted

If you’re a fan of the show Wilfred, you should get excited for this movie. “A story centered on a man and his teddy bear, who comes to life as the result of a childhood wish. ” This however, is not a movie for your child. The opening of the trailer says it all when it cuts from the boy and his bear having fun to the man (Wahlberg) and the bear (Voiced by Seth MacFarlane) taking a hit from a bong on a beat up couch. Again, not your kid’s cute stuffed animal comes to life movie. From the creators of Family Guy, comes this adorable hilarious tale. Oh, Mila Kunis is in it too.

Definitely catching this in theaters.

Red Lights

I love a good thriller. I love a good horror/thriller. From IMDB – “Psychologist Margaret Matheson (Sigourney Weaver) and her assistant (Cillian Murphy – better known as the Scarecrow from Batman Begins and The Dark Knight) study paranormal activity, which leads them to investigate a world-renowned psychic (Robert De Niro) who has resurfaced years after his toughest critic mysteriously passed away. ”

The director of Buried uses the term paranormal loosely and not in your typical fashion. I was skeptical just reading that summary, but after watching the trailer am convinced that this movie might actually leave me on the edge of my seat.

Elizabeth Olsen, the younger sister of the Olsen twins, caught my eye first in Martha Marcy May Marlene. She is also in Peace, Love and Misunderstanding to be released in June.

My friend and I both agree that Cillian Murphy should be considered for the role of Roose Bolton in Game of Thrones.

The Watch

While I definitely won’t pay money to see it, this comedy about a group of adult men in the suburbs saving their neighborhood from a band of aliens looks as though it would be amusing. Maybe a movie to watch with friends, popcorn and a six pack. Really I just want to see if because Richard Ayoade is in it and I do love The IT Crowd (British sitcom starring Richard, Chris O’Dowd [Bridesmaids] and Katherine Parkinson… ‘Have you turned it off and turned it back on again?”)

Ruby Sparks

I love Paul Dano (There Will Be Blood, Little Miss Sunshine). I wasn’t going to watch the trailer for this movie until I saw that he was in it and I’m very glad that I did. From the directors of Little Miss Sunshine, this movie is about a younger writer, Dano, who is working on his new novel. He gets enraptured with writing about his dream girl, a girl who, to him, would be perfect. And then Ruby Sparks appears in real life. Everyone can see her.  Everything he writes about her comes true. To me, it seems as though this is a younger take on Stranger Than Fiction (Will Farrell).

I will definitely make an effort to check this out in theaters. If I don’t catch it, it definitely won’t be the end of the world. This might be a movie that makes its way into my DVD collection, though.

Killer Joe

I only gave this movie a chance, well the trailer a chance, because Thomas Haden Church is in it and I fell in love with him in Easy A and then again in We Bought A Zoo.

From IMDB – “When a debt puts a young man’s life in danger, he turns to putting a hit out on his evil mother in order to collect the insurance. ”

I thought it was going to be funny. I thought it was going to just be another silly comedy that probably wasn’t the best. I mean, Matthew McConaughey is in it. He hasn’t made many stellar movies that I know of recently. And then I watched the trailer and realized that, yes there are funny bits, but it is definitely not a comedy. Also starring Emile Hirsch (Into the Wild, The Darkest Hour) and Juno Temple.

Movies that I might make an effort to see

The Woman In FifthTrailer

Lola Versus – I will most likely try and catch this somehow

Peace, Love and Misunderstanding

Dark Horse

Magic Mike – Lets be honest, I really just want to see Channing Tatum and Alex Pettyfer without their shirts on.

Take This Waltz – another quirky movie for the year!

People Like Us – oh hey, Mark Duplass is in this, too! Also starring Elizabeth Banks, Olivia Wilde, Michelle Pfeiffer, and Chris Pine. Actually I don’t think Mark is even a starring role, he is just in it. I was skeptical of this movie at first only because of Chris Pine’s face on the poster… he just looks so… corny.

I want to add that today, the trailer for Perks of Being A Wallflower is released and I just watched it 4 times and am very very excited for this movie. I read the book when I was still in high school and need to give it another read. The views of Pittsburgh just from this trailer made me very home sick. I know that this is a movie I’ll have to see alone because there will be tears! Oh, and the song (It’s Time) at the end of the trailer is by one of my new favorite bands, Imagine Dragons. Check out their EP on Spotify!

Leave a Reply

