I have no idea what month it is

Posted on Updated on

Seriously. I don’t.

Only by looking at a calendar or the date on my computer, can I tell what time of year it is.

When I get text messages from friends who are telling me about how hot it is outside, I get confused.

San Francisco, what are you doing to me!

I haven’t written about my impressions of San Francisco in a while. I haven’t really talked about what I love about this city. I’ve been here for almost 8 months. I will have lived here for 8 months on June 11, 2012. Wow. I know that when I visited last year, I wrote a post comparing SF to DC. It’s called City Vibes. Go read it. There are pictures.

I remember at 8 months in DC, I was ready to head for the hills screaming like one of the crazies here in SF.  Apparently no one here calls it San Fran. They call it either San Francisco or SF. Add that to the list of things that I’ve picked up along with ‘Right On’.

Back to the temperature, though. That is the main thing that I’ve noticed. The weather. Again, I literally have no idea what time of year it is. My friend told me it was wicked  hella hot in Pittsburgh yesterday – mid to upper 80s with loads of humidity. I was confused. “Wow they must be going through a warm spell.” No, Mattie. No. It’s almost JUNE. That is NORMAL weather for the summer. You, my dear, live somewhere with abnormal summer weather. Oh look! It’s going to be 70 on Thursday. I’m just so confused. Its very hard to believe that it is June. Apparently July is worse!

Don’t get me wrong, we do have warm days. Last week it was almost 70 on Saturday and Sunday. I did one of my favorite things to do, which is sit in Dolores Park drawing and painting. Beautiful view of the city and you meet such wonderful people. Great place for people watching, too. Lets be honest, that is really all I do.

Photo by Listen Missy! At Flikr

People in San Francisco are a strange breed. I love that about this city. Everywhere people are making music or dancing or performing with some sort of item like poi or hoops. Tight rope walkers string ropes between trees. Painters break out easels and create. String quartets set themselves up in Muni stations. I love that in SF, you don’t have to have a permit to perform for cash in Muni and BART stations. If you want to make some quick cash and have musical talent of any kind, just pop yourself down for a few hours in a Muni station and get your groove on. In the neat future, I’m hoping to bust out my clarinet for some extra cash!

Hardly anyone I know here works a 9-5 job and that is something else that I love. Everyone doesn’t trudge to work from 9-5 and then head to a happy hour. I mean, yes, that does happen, but most of my friends work weird hours. They have random jobs and side jobs and I love it. Its refreshing! Soon I hope to have a random job. Its a good experience to get a good story or meet other people – these non typical jobs. Sure, it makes it harder to get together with someone, but at the same time, it is very liberating.

It is a wonderful city to create in. Everyone is positive. Everyone encourages artistic freedom be it through performance art, music, or the fine arts. No one says ” that’s not good enough” or “I’ve seen better”.  I’ve done more art here in the last month than I did in the 10 months I lived in DC. The city, itself, is full of inspiration.

Photo by Idleformat on Flikr

I was walking through a section of the city that I’ve never seen before about a month and a half ago. I could wander for hours here. Every street is a work  of art. The houses are colorful. There are beautiful flowers everywhere. Every hill you climb leads to an astounding view of the city. The parks! I desperately need a new camera. I think I’ll save up the clarinet money for a new camera. That will be good motivation to get out there and play! I guess I should practice.

There are so many things I want to do. So many things I want to get involved with. I found a great group of people to play soccer with on Thursday nights. One thing down, several more to go! Hopefully I can add sailing and rock climbing to this list of things I’m keeping occupied with. SF is full of free or super cheap things to do, great deals on happy hours ($10 for TWO people for beer from 5pm-8pm!!), and great concerts and performances all the time.

The best part? People are genuinely interested in you. Not what you do, not who you know in terms of how you can help them network, but you, yourself. What you like, what you don’t like. What you like to do. What you’re hobbies are. What you’re views on the world are. What you views on life are. What you’re thinking. What you’re dreaming. Just you. They want to know you. For the most part anywhere, doesn’t mean there aren’t suits out there. (FYI, Suits are my generic term for people who wear suits every day and don’t have a social life for anything but suit things aka work and happy hour and fancy cocktail bars/wine bars/lounges. It’s not meant to be offensive nor is it meant to say that people who DO work suit jobs don’t have sweet social lives involving more than getting wasted every day at 5pm).

I’m not ready to leave, not even close. Hopefully I will be here for another year at least. Maybe not in this exact house, but in the bay area, definitely. New friendship are blossoming, creativity is flowing, now I just need to find a new, sweet job or at least figure out what I want to do and get the ball rolling!

Leave a Reply

