A Thank You and Reflections on being Freshly Pressed

Posted on Updated on

First and foremost, thank you everyone!

I remember that first moment when I started getting more and more ‘like’s and comments on my blog post – No Pain, No Gain. I was confused. Who were all of these people? Why were they visiting a post that I wrote so long ago as opposed to the posts I had that were days or even minutes old?

I went to the WordPress homepage and sure enough there it was. My post had been Freshly Pressed.

So I want to thank you. Thank you WordPress for pressing me! Thank you old followers! Thank you NEW followers! Thank you people who liked the post! Hell, thank you people who hated it, I know there are probably a few out there. Thank you commenters!

Thank you! Hvala! Gracias! Merci! Blagodaria!  Insert-thank-you-in-random-language-here!

I’m sorry for the delay. I’m sorry I haven’t written anything since. Don’t worry! Soon enough you’ll get a new post from me. I’ve had some interesting things happen lately oh and yesterday was my birthday.

I told my friend Janae that I have been freshly pressed. She is over here at You’ve Got Nae. She has been freshly pressed not once, but TWICE!

She is fantastic. I love her as a person, as a writer, as a traveler, and as a photographer.

She said I will never look at my blog the same way again. She is right. It’s weird thinking about over 3,000 people in only 3 days read my words. They read about intimate (not the most intimate) details of my life. I mean, I have over 50 100 followers now. Some of you are strangers! That’s nuts!

I just found out that not only was I freshly pressed, but got 2 @ mentions on twitter from people I don’t know!

I haven’t written partly because I’ve been busy, but partly because I’ve had a bit of performance anxiety. Its been hard thinking about topics or thinking – well that is a good idea, but now I have more people to potentially let down. I realized that isn’t a good way to approach things. Sure, I will take more time to review my words and edit my posts. But having all of these new followers and new people doesn’t mean I need to change the way I see things; it doesn’t mean I need to change being me.

So, welcome to my crazy life and mind.  If you don’t like it, or start to feel a bit queasy, please feel free to come and go as you please. There are no rules! I’m not holding you here against your will. Enjoy the ride!

Oh, and the safe word is bananas.

11 thoughts on “A Thank You and Reflections on being Freshly Pressed

    TPPIII said:
    May 18, 2012 at 12:27 am

    You mean “batman” not “bananas”

    shonna said:
    May 18, 2012 at 1:34 am

    I know this might be a dumb question but im brand spankin new to this wordpress…just got it yesterday…but i wondering what is being “freshly pressed”?…it has to be something to achieve the way youre talkin about it haha…oh and it must be good

      paperballpotluck responded:
      May 18, 2012 at 5:46 am

      Haha, It’s when they feature a blog post of yours on the homepage of WordPress.

    Nelandir said:
    May 18, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    Why haven’t you told me yesterday it was your bday?! Well, happy bday!
    You’re welcome and an addition to your Thank You list is “danke” (German) 😀

    Now, about WordPress. What are the criteria to get your post freshly pressed on the homepage?
    P.S. Damn you, with this new post. I wanted to read more about Ireland before the movie and instead, I got stuck reading this 😀

      paperballpotluck responded:
      May 18, 2012 at 6:51 pm

      Hahahaha Sorry!!!! Ireland is awesome.

      I have no idea what the requirements are to be freshly Pressed nor do I know who makes the decisions on who gets featured.

      Ah! I knew that. Totally slipped my mind! (about danke… i’ve gone bottom to top in addressing these things)

      Thanks 🙂

        Nelandir said:
        May 18, 2012 at 7:18 pm

        You should’ve included Irish “thank you” 😉

        Yeah, I’d like to become a global star from being no one 😀

    radhiyahh said:
    May 20, 2012 at 7:04 am

    I was one of the 2 who posted in twitter about your post! yay! hold on, you mean 17th may was your birthday? We share the same birthday then! 😀 Hope you had a great one, at least better than mine I hope. Haha. Congrats and keep up the good job fellow blogger (:

      paperballpotluck responded:
      May 20, 2012 at 3:36 pm

      Actually the 16th was, but we’re so close!! Happy Birthday!!!

        radhiyahh said:
        May 20, 2012 at 4:59 pm

        Oh sorry. Yeah, pretty cool eh. Thanks for the wish! Happy (belated) birthday too, no matter how old you are!! 😀

    Nae said:
    May 21, 2012 at 11:34 am

    😀 This makes me really happy. You’re awesome.

      paperballpotluck responded:
      May 21, 2012 at 2:27 pm

      🙂 You’re awesome too. It’s almost been 3 years since we stepped on the ship. HOW CRAZY IS THAT!

Leave a Reply

