The (perfect) cheap date

Posted on

My friend recently shared this article with me.

It’s about what a cheap date costs around the world. I read the title and thought to myself ‘huh. this could be interesting.’

It was interesting all right. Interesting and hilarious.

The author, who along with the editor who approved this probably hasn’t been on a date in years,  chose to compare the cost of the same date in various countries around the world.

Actually, I don’t think it’s the authors fault, I think its this Deutsche Bank and it’s “Cheap Date Index”.

Whatever.

The date? “A “cheap date” includes sending a standard bouquet of roses, cab rides, soft drink, two movie tickets, and a couple of beers.

The dates range in price from $86.40 in New Delhi, India to $234.77 in Tokyo, Japan. What is throwing the cost of this date up so high? Delivering the damn roses.

First of all, who buys a date a dozen roses anymore unless it is an anniversary or something special? I mean, not even a birthday unless its maybe a 40th or a 50th is an appropriate time to buy someone a dozen roses, let alone have them delivered. Where are these being delivered to? Someone’s office?

I can imagine the conversation now. The delivery guy walks into the office.

‘I have a dozen roses for Beth.’

Secretary ‘BETH! What is the special occasion! These are amazing!’

Beth (Turning as red as the roses) ‘Oh I have a date tonight. I guess he is really excited.’

Secretary ‘OH! How fun! What are you doing! Is it an anniversary?’

Beth ‘OH… uhhh…. no… It’s date number 10 or so. We’re  uh… going to the movies’

OR that last bit could be replaced with ‘Oh Um no… its date number 10… I am not sure what we’re doing but I guess it might be something special and romantic.’

5 hours later, she is dressed to the nines and gets in a cab only to arrive at AMC just in time for the 9:20 showing of some awful Nicholas Sparks movie.

I didn’t say that.

Maybe its just me, but I don’t think that roses are quite appropriate any longer especially when a movie is involved.

Moving on. Some of the movie ticket prices in some of these countries is astounding. I thought the US was bad in that two movie tickets, depending on the experience can range from $22-$30 – the latter the awesome IMAX experience. Two movie tickets in Sydney, Australia? $63.72. I remember when I was in Croatia, I saw the second transformers movie in an outdoor theater in Dubrovnik. I think the ticket was less than $2 and the atmosphere was amazing. I would deal with a movie date there.

But again, who goes on movie dates now? I mean, not that they are terrible, but especially at the beginning or whatever is going on, let the teens stick to movie dates. To me, its one of the worst possible ways to get to know someone. Unless you’re the only ones in the theater and can just talk as loud as you would like.

Lastly, lets talk about the cab ride. 3 kilometers. I guess in a few of these cities it is a respectable and average distance from a restaurant to the theater? Though, dinner isn’t figured into these prices. Is that the distance from where? From the meeting point? If you’re meeting that close to the theater, why not just meet AT the theater? Some of these cities are quite big. I don’t know the ratio of number of theaters per square mile, so I can’t really comment on how accurate this distance is. Though I think that in SF, depending on where you’re coming from, it might not work out so well – just having a  little under 2 miles to work with.

Guys, if you’re reading this, its a horrible date. Its expensive. I wouldn’t classify this in the realm of cheap date. Hell, I wouldn’t classify movie into the category of cheap date in this day and age unless you live in cities like Pittsburgh where movies are $5 Monday through Friday.

I can think of a good list of cheap date ideas that don’t involve ordering and having roses delivered. If you want to be romantic? Buy her one flower and give it to her at the start of a date. Just one. No need to go for the full bouquet or dozen again unless it is an anniversary. I’m not talking about a 2 week anniversary either. Maybe 2 months. Just kidding.

Want to save money? Make a lunch and go sit in the park. You can probably spend about $25 on that depending on what you make.

Find something free in your city. Most cities have websites that compile most if not all of the free and cheap events in your city. Use it! If you live somewhere awesome, like SF, you can come up with someone just about every night.

Go to an amateur comedy night. If the comics don’t make you laugh, at least you can laugh at how bad they were afterward?

Comedy isn’t your thing? Can’t find anything else to do? Get outside and just walk around.Unless you live somewhere not so safe. Then take a bus to somewhere safe and walk around.

Unless it’s a joke, don’t have a dozen roses delivered. That’s just weird.

2 thoughts on “The (perfect) cheap date

    Megan Madill said:
    April 30, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    I can’t believe the thing about the ‘standard bouquet of roses’! My boyfriend and I have been together for two years and I think I’ve received three bouquets of flowers from him over that time. And they’re never as part of a date, but as a random gift to say I like you. I love flowers as much as the next girl, but it’s certainly not ‘standard’ for every date – if you like a girl and want to make a special gesture, that’s what flowers are for.

    You’re right, that article is incredibly misguided! Thank you for correcting it – although actually, having been on the amateur comedy date, I wouldn’t recommend it, at least not in my town 😛

      paperballpotluck responded:
      April 30, 2012 at 5:40 pm

      🙂
      I actually went out to an amateure comedy night in my town the other night with a guy and it was SO bad. The one girl working the door/one of the comedians said that it was a very off night for the performers, so she gave us passes for another free night.

      I’m glad you liked the post!!

Leave a Reply

