My job at the Bull and Bear Bar

Posted on

It all started on March 31, 2012. I went into my email to find a message from Peter. I don’t know any Peters. The subject was “B&B schedule week ending April 8th”. I wasn’t sure if it was spam or not, so I opened it. Plus, a bar here in SF has my resume, so I was hoping I was put on the schedule to start training!

Inside I found the serving schedule for the Bull & Bear Bar and a list of all the events the bar was hosting that week. Pretty good specials I guess. Some special events including a Children’s Heart Foundation fundraiser. Apparently they have a patio so that is pretty cool.

I replied to the email:

“Peter,

I think you sent this to me on accident?
I hope you get in touch with who you need to.

Mattie”

No Response.

I get another e-mail from Peter the next day. Instead of a reply to my email telling me that he fixed the problem, I get the announcement for the Employee of the Month! Hopefully this wasn’t an April Fool’s joke. Congrats to John!

Peter likes to make his email’s look fun with colors and large fonts! (It really looks terrible).

I reply again.

“Peter.

Please take me off the mailing list. I don’t know who you are or where bull bear bar is. I googled it. it says this bar is in Chicago. I live about 2000 miles away in San Francisco. I’ve never in my life been to chicago.
Congrats to John.
I really have no idea how you have this email address.
thank you

Mattie”

Again, no reply. Whatever. Maybe he just took me off the list finally?

NOPE! This one is from Dan Q. They are hiring! They are in search of some bussers for the busier season as I guess it is getting nice in Chicago. Maybe they have a larger patio than I originally thought?

Again, I reply. This time, seeing as I was getting nowhere with the owners or managers or whatever Peter was, I replied all. Yup. Every single employee that works at Bull & Bear Bar got my e-mail. This time, I tried to make it a bit funnier:

“Hey Dan,

I’m really glad that I continue to get updates about the inner workings at  Bull & Bear Bar.

However, I don’t work here. I’m about 2,000 mile away. Actually, I’m going to look it up – 2,139 Miles. It says I could drive there in 1 day and 10 hours. That is a hell of a commute.

Again, PLEASE REMOVE ME FROM THE MAILING LIST.

While I  could use a second job, I don’t actually live in Chicago and don’t plan on moving there anytime soon.

Oh, and since I replied all, Congrats on employee of the month, John Guevara!

Thanks!

Mattie”

FINALLY a reply! This was from Morgen. A new server has close to the same email as me! I told her it was alright and I was amused. She said everyone else was too.

The end.

Maybe if I’m ever in Chicago, I should go there and ask for Peter, Dan, or Morgen. Huh… That is a thought!

 

 

4 thoughts on “My job at the Bull and Bear Bar

    Vilipend said:
    April 5, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    You should have tried to get the job and kept making excuses when they don’t see you.

    “Where were you today?
    Sorry Dan, I forgot to clock in but we talked for a while today. Don’t you know what I look like?”

      paperballpotluck responded:
      April 5, 2012 at 8:03 pm

      Ahaha, i totally should have…. I really am considering making the trip to Leah’s going away party.

    D said:
    December 4, 2012 at 9:24 pm

    Funny! I work above them…I know Morgen…she is the person I go to there if I need something done…so it’s not a shock to me that she would be the one to respond and take care of this…thanks for the laugh!

      paperballpotluck responded:
      December 5, 2012 at 3:53 pm

      Such a small world! Glad you got a good laugh out of it. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

