My 2012 in Films: Part 1 – Films I’ll go see in the theater

Posted on

BEHOLD! Another blog post staple: films! I’ve stumble upon (not stumbledupon) a good handful of posts and articles on movies that people are excited about in 2012. Not all posts are from professionals and not all are from amateur movie buffs. I fit into neither of those categories. I like movies. I like weird movies. I like getting excited about movies. I don’t know very much about cinematography. If someone told me about it, I would listen. I like learning. My cousin has a book on films, maybe I should read it. She had to take a class. Ok I’ll read it. Some of it.

Right.

Movies coming out in 2012.

I like strange movies. I usually get really excited about movies that are low key, independent films. Sometimes I get excited about huge films. Here is my quirky list of movies I’m excited to see in 2012.

First, I’ll talk about the movies I’ll actually go to a theater to see. Scratch that, I’ll actually plan to go to a theater to see. Some of them might even get midnight showings… and one of them is getting a special trip back to Pittsburgh.

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

I remember the first time I was told about Lord of the Rings. My mom told me that I would love the trilogy but wasn’t allowed reading it until I read The Hobbit. So I read it. I was hooked.

How much do I love Lord of the Rings and JRR Tolkien? I once sat through all 3 extended edition Lord of the Rings movies in one sitting. I’ve been waiting for this movie to come out since it was announced.

Midnight showing? Most likely. When they first announced Guillermo Del Toro (Pan’s Labyrinth, The Orphanage, Devils Backbone) as the director, I was ecstatic. Now they’ve gone back to Peter Jackson. Understandable move. I had NO idea Martin Freeman was playing Bilbo until very recently. The excitement increased ten-fold. Love Actually, Hitchicker’s Guide, and Sherlock (UK TV series) were not enough! Now he gets to rock out as a hobbit. Love it.

I might need to re-read the book before the movie comes out… Yeah that should happen. Then again, I might just get pissy if the plots don’t match. Thoughts?

Pumped.

Trailer

The Hunger Games

I have been waiting for this movie since I found out they were going to make it. I will say this a lot. I read the whole trilogy last year. I read each book in one night. AMAZING. I definitely recommend reading the book before going to see the movie. I think the movie is definitely going to make it seem a bit more light-hearted than the story really is. Think about it. Each district has to let two of it’s CHILDREN fight in a battle to the death while the world watches. What. The. Hell. Yeah, the cast is hot. But really? Think about it. Yes, there are survivors. But children die. and no one does anything about it. Its terrifying. Again, read the book first.

The cast should do well. Some of my favorite people are in it – Elizabeth Banks, Donald Sutherland, and Stanley Tucci. Lenny Kravitz was an interesting choice for Cinna and DEFINITELY not how I placed his character, but I think it will be an interesting spin.

Definitely watching this in theaters and will have no problem going after work by myself if that is what it comes to. Actually.. that might be the best decision.. I know there will be tears shed.

Trailer

The Pirates! Band of Misfits

Pirates + Claymation = awesome.

I love clay-mation movies. I love pirates. Since I first saw the trailer for this, I’ve been eagerly awaiting its release. Almost as much as I’ve been waiting for Hunger Games. Its a very very close second. If The Lorax had an all-starish cast, Pirates has THE all-star cast… well according to this nerdy lady composed of Hugh Grant (the Pirate Captain), Brendan Gleeson (known for his role as “Mad Eye” Moody among others), Jeremy Piven, Salma Hayek, Martin Freeman, and last but not least… David Tennant as Charles Darwin. Any whovian should drop everything to see it, even if Tennant has a small part.

There is also an overweight parrot and a sarcastic monkey.

The Pirate Captain is out to defeat Cutlass Liz (Hayek) and Black Bellamy (Piven) for the Pirate of the year award. He’s just… you know really bad at being a pirate?

Anyway. I’m excited. So excited in fact that I’m going to head to the motherland of Pittsburgh to watch this movie with my friend. We’ve both been waiting.

Every time I watch the preview, I laugh. Hard. At the same things. YES.

Trailer

The Amazing Spider Man

I love Andrew Garfield. I’m basing that sentence not off of The Social Network,  but form his performances in Boy A (his first full length motion picture) and Never Let Me Go (probably the saddest movie I’ve seen in years). I’m pretty sure that when it was announced he was the new Spider Man I was the most excited out of anyone I know. Mainly because I was the only one that knew of him. Emma stone isn’t bad herself. I’m really glad that they decided to finally leave whats his name behind and head to a new generation for Spiderman. Its still a little weird though that they are starting all over again.

Then again, I can be making that stuff up because I’ve never read any of the comics.

Trailer

The Dark Knight Rises

Yes. yes yes yes yes yes. First of all, it was filmed in Pittsburgh. I love Pittsburgh. Its the last of the Batman movies. The trailer looks EPIC. After watching Warrior, Tom Hardy won my vote and Anne Hathway should be a decent Cat woman.

Even if I wasn’t a fan of the films, I would watch it anyway. My friends spent most of July and August telling me all about whose driveway the Bat mobile was parked in front  of and where they saw it driving or who saw who fighting outside of Carnegie Mellon. Its going to bring me back home for the two hours or however long it is and at the same time, I’ll get to watch the player Ravenstaal get sacked during a football game.

June is going to be a busy month for me and the movies.

Trailer

Rise of the Guardians

The plot from IMDB: “Santa Claus, the Easter Bunny, the Tooth Fairy, Jack Frost and the Sandman band together to form a united front against the Bogeyman.” Um.. yes?

No trailer yet, but looks like a great cast – Jude Law, Hugh Jackman (The Easter Bunny), Chris Pine (Jack Frost), Isla Fisher (Tooth Fairy… obviously), and Alec Baldwin (Santa Clause).

Kind of excited, not going to lie.

Les Miserable

My favorite musical. Finally a movie containing the musical and not just a movie. I won’t be convinced of the cast, however, until I see it. I have my doubts. I think its one of those movies that can go either way with the mega-star filled cast. High Jackman as Jean Valjean? Yes. Anne Hatheway as Fantine? Maybe. Amanda Seyfried as Cosette? Maybe leaning on ugh. Russel Crowe as Javert? I’ll need to see it to believe it. Eddie Redmayne (My Week with Marilyn, The Pillars of Earth, ) as Marius…. I think I believe it. Aaron Tveit (Gossip Girl, Howl) as Ejolras? Again need to see it. I think if Sacha Baron Cohen can drop the Borat act and get into a more serious/dirty/scum role, then he’ll be wonderful.

I need to see a trailer and I need to hear each and every one of them sing their hearts out before I can get completely sold on the cast. I think they could have pulled in little known actors and actresses.

I’ll definitely see it in the theater. I can’t NOT. But I’ll be skeptical until about 1/2 way through it.

At least I know Helena Bohnam Carter is going to rock Madame Thenardier.

2 thoughts on “My 2012 in Films: Part 1 – Films I’ll go see in the theater

    […] So I already covered movies that I’m going to plan to see in the theater. Now for the list of movies that seem interesting and that I might go see in the theater or might […]

    […] in January I published two posts concerning movies in 2012 – one was a list of movies I wanted to see in theaters and one was a list of movies that I wanted to see, but wasn’t sure if I would spend money on […]

Leave a Reply

