Huh… I was one lucky kid.

Posted on

I’m going to be a bit mushy in this post. The luckiest thing that has ever happened to me would probably be being born into the family that I was.

Every family has their ups and downs. My family has been headed downhill for the past 6-7 years. There was a bit of a nose-dive there, but we’re evening out a bit. Or maybe it just seems that way to me since I’m 3000 miles away and no one tells me anything. That is a different story, one not to share with strangers… yet.

But my childhood? I couldn’t have really asked for a better one. I wasn’t pushed off onto strange sitters all the time. I wasn’t cared for by a nanny. I had my grandmother there. She helped to raise us. My parents were around most of the time. They didn’t work ridiculously long hours so that I never saw them. We ate dinner as a family almost every day well into High School at around 5:00-6:00pm. I had my own room. We had a great house. I grew up with a massive yard. I did chores and didn’t earn an allowance.

I was taught how to do things around the house and how to fix my car – change batteries, tires, oil, and even replace breaks so that I wouldn’t have to pay ridiculous fees for a garage to change my battery. They really kill you on that.

I wasn’t punished with every bad decision. My parents let us make our own decisions and live with the consequences. While others in my class might have been, I wasn’t exposed to drugs, alcohol, or sex at a young age. My mom made sure that if chose to do something we stuck with it. I was praised for my good grades and other talents like music and skating. Skating. That is a huge thing. It was something I wanted to do and it was expensive, but we made it work. I was fortunate to grow up in a house where it was possible to afford something like that.

We were by no means rich, but our fridge and cabinets were always stocked with good, healthy food. We had a massive garden and I had to weed it all the time. I have never eaten a fish stick. I didn’t have my first chicken nugget until I was in college (gross things). Soda was a specialty. We were healthy.

I lived in a safe community with a lot of wonderful and friendly neighbors.

I am lucky.

Leave a Reply

