It only took a 3,000 mile move to knock a smile into me

Posted on

I’ve never been married. I’ve never had kids. From conversations both spoken to me and overheard (yes I was eavesdropping), it seems that those are the two events in someones life that really sticks out of them in terms of happiness overload. But I guess that is the point of the ‘thus far’ in the question.  I’m young. I could say it was when I graduated High School and got the hell out of my tiny little town. I could say that it was when I graduated college and knew that I had accomplished something big with my engineering degree. It could be when I landed my first adult job (though at that time I was freaking out about moving to Washington, DC).

Most recently when I go through my short term memory for moments of pure joy, I remember a few things. The day I was given the job I work at currently in San Francisco, CA I think there were tears in my eyes I was so happy. I had done it. I had set my mind to something and then 6 months later, I landed a job and was moving to the city where I felt I needed to be. Finally things were working out in terms of making moves to do what I wanted to with my life. I was showing all of those people who said I should stick in engineering. All of those people with their cushy jobs in tiny towns all over the east coast. I was moving to California. I would get to see the ocean almost daily. I would get to spend time with my cousin who I haven’t spent more than a few days with in years. I was ecstatic.

On top of getting the job and knowing I was moving, I was going to stop in Colorado to see friends I haven’t seen in 2 years. More happiness!

I wrote about this a few weeks ago, I know, but I do want to say that I haven’t felt truly happy before I moved to San Francisco. I always had things to worry about like boys, money, etc. You know, the usual. But the first few weeks I was here, I may have had little money, but man, I was happy. Wait, why am I saying was? I AM happy. I’ve been more motivated to create. I’ve found so many things to do. I’ve met new friends. I may  be far away from my friends on the east coast, and I do miss them terribly, but I am not as lonely as I was in DC. Clearly you can tell with the change of my writing style that something happened in the last two months.

I don’t think that California will be my permanent home, but by golly, I know that I will be here for at least a year and a half and I don’t think that it will disappoint.

Oh, I almost forgot. This whole experience has been and will continue to be amazing and I’m very happy, but I think my happiest time is still the 2 1/2 months I was on Semester at Sea but that is an entire blog in itself.

Leave a Reply

