A letter to my crush

Posted on Updated on

“Dear Law School Boy,

Hi. How are you?

I have something important to tell you. I guess it’s not that important. To me it is. I guess at the end of this you can judge whether or not its important to you or not.

Anyway, here it goes.

I have a crush on you.

It started when I first met you. You’re really tall, by the way. I like that you’re tall. Usually I don’t really care, but I your height suits you.

I like your dark curly and unruly hair. I want to run my fingers through it when I see you, but I don’t. Mostly because I don’t want you to think I’m crazy but partly because I can’t reach it easily.

I’m sad that the first time I met you was a week before I moved to Washington, DC for 10 months. I wish you had come out with your friend’s before that so I could have gotten to know you more before leaving. I’m really glad we kept in touch when I left even though you had only met me once. We bonded over hockey. You were the only one I could really talk about hockey with, but don’t worry that isn’t the only reason why I have a crush on you.

I like your eyes. Aww that was sappy.

I like that you’re smart but like ridiculous movies like Paul. (Everyone told me that you made them go see it. I like that you did that, too.)

I like that when I came back to visit, you hung out with me and gave me a hug, even though we only met in person once.

I like that when I moved back, you were excited to hang out with me and talked to me in the kitchen for a half hour. I like that you offered your good beer to me, too.

I like that you waited outside and talked to me for an hour before my friend picked me up to take me home. I like that we talked about science fiction for that hour. I hate that I called you by your last name and not your first name. I feel really lame for doing that. Sorry dude. I hope I made up for it and that you don’t hate me. I guess it was kind of funny. I wasn’t even drunk!

I like that you were my beer pong partner at your party. I like that you said I could pass out on the couch section that was in your room too when it was not even midnight.

I like that you got excited about watching New Girl and fell asleep on the couch with me after indulging in adult beverages that one Thursday night. I don’t know if you know this, but I was really nervous. Our hands were almost touching. I remember every detail of that night.

I like that you hung out with me and the guys the last Tuesday that I was in town. I like that you sat with me in the morning. I like that you gave me a really long, big hug before you left for work.

I don’t like that I moved 2,625 miles away.

I like that you texted me 3 days later to tell me that you finished one of the books I left on your doorstep when I was leaving. I like that you’re actually reading the books I left you.

I like that you gave me hockey updates when I was in Colorado.

I like that feeling I get when I see a text from you; you know like butterflies are in my stomach. That feeling you get when someone asks you to dance in middle school. I like when your messages say something witty. I laughed when you said that bit about the pumpkins after pumpkinfest.

I like that you tell me that everyone misses me. I miss you too. Sometimes I think about you telling me that you miss me instead of saying ‘everyone’ or ‘Pittsburgh’.

I like that you said visiting over spring break was an option.

I like that you’ll never find out about this crush. I think it’s better that way. I’m not sure I would feel the same way if you did know. I’m funny like that.

Anyway. There was that.

Cheers,

Me

3 thoughts on “A letter to my crush

    A selfish review of 2011 « paperballpotluck said:
    December 20, 2011 at 12:17 am

    […] Since I left DC on August 31, life has been a whirlwind of craziness between weddings, interviews, trips, and moving. I wasn’t actually planning on moving to San Francisco until January, but I somehow landed a job that started in October. Wow. That was fast. I had the chance to cram in some fun in Pittsburgh before heading out to the West Coast and leaving my East Coast life behind (for now). I got to celebrate a friendiversary (It’s an anniversary but for friends!) with our law school friends after a glorious time at the Steel City Big Pour. Yup, one of the very same law school boys written about here. […]

    dreamerrambling said:
    December 3, 2013 at 12:42 pm

    This was so sweet. I swear to god, I almost bawled my eyes out because I was thinking about my high school crush the entire time. Except I never talked to the damn boy. Yeah, I’m weird like that. Here’s to idealism. *toasts*

      paperballpotluck responded:
      December 3, 2013 at 5:20 pm

      I’m so glad you liked it!! Sometimes its really hard to talk to crushes. You’ll be able to talk to everyone around them, and then when they walk up to you, NOPE!

Leave a Reply

