Film… musing: Warrior

Posted on

I mentioned in a previous post that Pittsburgh has $5 movies. The theater in the South Side only has $5 movies on Mondays, but you can just skip along to the Waterfront for $5 movies Monday – Thursday.

South Side used to have free popcorn too, but that changed when the economy did. Boo that.

On to the point of the post. Warrior.

The only other fighting movie I have ever watched was The Fighter. I don’t really like fighting movies. Maybe it is because I’ve never given them a change. But maybe it’s because I just don’t like them. Who knows? No, I have never seen Rocky. Any of them, and I think that my life is 100% OK with that.

I’m not saying that I don’t like emotional dramas about sports. I do. The Blind Side? That movie was excellent. I’m not the type of girl to drag someone to the movies to watch some chick flick with the same story line as every other chick flick. I will watch those in the privacy of my own home through Red Box. I will pay $1 to watch something like that, but my $5 will be going to something with explosions, drama (not lady drama), excitement, magic, hobbits, space, that sort of thing.

When my friend asked me to see Warrior, I said sure. In my mind I was thinking “what the hell is this movie?”.  I had no idea what it was about. I haven’t spent nearly enough time watching previews on IMDB. (I do this thing every few months or so where I sit down for a few hours and watch all of the trailers for the movies coming out in the next 2-3 months so I can be ready for them). I’m a weird kid.

I saw the movie poster at the theater. I had no idea who any of the actors were. I had no idea what would happen. I just knew it was about UFC fighting and I only knew this because I told my friend that I was going to see it and they said “Oh that movie about UFC?”. So there is that.

Short and Sweet Plot Synopsis:

The film, directed by Gavin O’Connor (Miracle), opens with one of the main characters, Tommy Riordan (Tom Hardy), sitting on the steps of his father’s house. He has been drinking. You learn that he was once a former boxer and hasn’t seen his former alcoholic father in years. As the movie moves along you also learn more about his past as a former marine and about the other people in his life. I was not expecting the twists with his character. The film has another main character;  Brendan Conlon (Joel Edgerton). He is a husband, a father, and high school physics teacher. His family is losing their house and he makes extra money on the side by fighting underground. Both begin training again as MMA (Mixed Martial Arts) fighters and enter a high stakes single elimination tournament where the winner takes away 5 million dollars.

What did I think:

Go see it. You will be surprised. This is one movie that I didn’t hear much about before I saw it. I definitely recommend it though. If you liked The Fighter, you should enjoy this movie, too. I was dead tired when I got to the theater. I had 3 hours of terrible sleep the night before. A nightmare. A long day at work. All that. The movie started at 10:10. I just wanted to sleep. This movie kept me awake the whole time. The beginning is a little slow, but once more information is revealed you learn more and more about the complex histories and personalities of the characters. When the plot really starts to twist and turn, the tournament begins. I think that I probably bruised my friend’s hand. I get way too nervous about sporting events that happen in movies. The fights and the intensity of the final 30 or so minutes of the film had me on the edge of my seat.

I became attached to the characters. I think that is important both in films and in books. You need to actually give a damn about the characters and I did. I wanted to know who would pull through. I was anxious when Brendan had some rough fights in the tournament. I cared.

I guess it helps that the movie was filmed in Pittsburgh. A fact which I had forgotten until about the middle of the movie when I remembered my friends were actually extras in the movie. My friend that just recently got married has a good 20 seconds of screen time before one of Tommy’s fights. He is dressed like a marine and is smack dab in the center of the screen. Joel Edgerton is quite the looker too, so that made the movie even more enjoyable.

Final verdict? Go see it. Its worth $5. Hell, if I was in another city and had to pay $11, I would pay to see this movie. Not going to lie, I liked it more than X-Men first class and I DID pay $11 for that.

One thought on “Film… musing: Warrior

    CMrok93 said:
    September 16, 2011 at 6:21 am

    Great review. The cliches are there but Edgerton, Hardy, and Nolte rise this above being just than just Rocky with MMA. It’s a well-made and emotionally gripping story that brings out some real gut-wrenching moments as well as the great knock-outs.

Leave a Reply

