The Color of Everything

Posted on Updated on

I went to update my Tumblr and one of the users that I follow had a link to this amazing website posted.

It’s called The Color Of. Its in its beta form, but even then, is still remarkable. It was created by artist Fung Kwok Pan. (Check out some of his other work)

This is a system created to find out the colour of anything, by querying and aggregating image data from Flickr, a popular online photo sharing community. It is an attempt at answering a potentially complex and abstract question in an objective manner, by using simple algorithms on data originating from subjective human perceptions. – Fung Kwok Pan

You just type in a word – it can be anything, a place, a thing, an emotion – and then let the images slowly combine together to get the color of something.

I am not going to lie, I spent many hours on this.

Lumped into categories below are my favorites:

*Warning: There will be many a picture below.

Flowers

Sun, Moon, and Stars

Elements


Places I’ve Been

I did all of the continents too… But won’t put them up here.

Emotions

Random!

Umm… OK I’m done.

I have twice as many… but go do it yourself… it’s so entertaining!

It would be fun to get prints of maybe the four seasons or the elements….

My favorite is probably Fashion.

2 thoughts on “The Color of Everything

    theworldisacanvas said:
    August 8, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    These are awesome! What an interesting idea. I like the ones where you can even make out images in the background (like heartache… that one is especially interesting). Thanks for sharing!

      paperballpotluck responded:
      August 8, 2011 at 7:30 pm

      I know! those are my favorite too! I’m probably going to spend countless hours on here just coming up with new words to search!

Leave a Reply

