The plan is to… make a plan?

Posted on

Over the past few weeks I’ve started to get the feeling of “everything will be OK” after a great day in the office or even a good weekend. But that feeling is short lived. I know I’m young, but I can’t shake the feeling that I need to keep moving. That this isn’t a good place for me to settle. I’ve learned that I need to listen to these feelings. Well… sometimes at least. My brain likes to freak out at times and I need to tell it that it is being irrational and calm down.

Today is one of those days where my brain has gone into overdrive thinking about life planning and life decisions. I’ve calmed the irrational thoughts but the rational/logical still remain. Something needs to be done and soon.

As my friend Tiff said, I need a plan. Even if that plan is to… make a plan.

Right now that is what comes next. I need a plan. Some time this week/weekend, I want to sit down and think about everything that I find joy in, everything that I am interested in, everything that I would like to have a hand in some way or another. I need to decide where I want to go and what my options are.

Here is what I have so far when it comes to this plan of mine:

1. Make a plan determining, where, when, and what for the the next year. Also plan the what for the next 5 years maybe? or at least what the hell I’m interested in doing. Right now? Totally lost.

2.Move out of DC. Soonish. I know that it’s been getting better, but it’s not great and frankly, I can’t take being boned with the ridiculous cost of living in this city. Sure, I could move out of the district, but in the end, I would be making up for the lower cost with the cost of metroing to work every day.

Where would I move to?

3. Find a job in Pittsburgh. Hopefully this happens soon and I can start working between the middle of August and the end of September. Ideally I would like to move there sooner rather than later, stay for a few months to a year, save up, buy a car, and hit the road. I guess this goes hand in hand with 2. I would need to find a job before moving….

So… thats about it for now?

I’ve applied to two jobs in Pittsburgh so far. More to come in the near future. It will be nice to move back to a place with cheap booze, a low cost of living, and snow.

I need a hug.

One thought on “The plan is to… make a plan?

    Executing The Plan: Step 1 « paperballpotluck said:
    August 5, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    […] step one of my plan has been executed! or, I guess… […]

Leave a Reply

