30 Day Music Challenge: Day 8

Posted on Updated on

A Song That You Can Dance To

Title: Represent, Cuba
Artist: Orishas

It took me several hours an an interesting journey through my music collection to choose a song for this particular day. I went through all of the newer music and none of it really drove me to even dance in my seat. I wanted to find something that would raise my spirits on this Monday and have me tapping my feet and bobbing my head.

I thought about Turbo Folk, but already used that genre for a different day. I remembered that I liked some of the songs from the Step Up soundtrack (the first one with that dreamy Channing Tatum). After listening to a few songs, the light bulb went off. Dirty Dancing: Havana Nights! Oh how I love latin music…. And then I found it.

This song reminds me of swilling around the rooftop salsa floor at El Huevo, the giant club in Valparaiso, Chile with my cutie, Cristobal. Not that the song really played there, it is really the feel of the song. My trip to Chile was 2 weeks of culture shock stock full of music and dancing. Not a night went by that we were dancing out the calories consumed that day in some club or random bar in Vina del Mar or Valparaiso or even in our rooms! I will never forget my first trip out of the country and into the wonderful continent of South America.

Chile and South America will always have a place in my heart.

Oh, and there were some really close seconds, but this one took the blue ribbon!

First Runner Up
Title: Gasolina (the spanish version)
Artist: Daddy Yankee

This song was a MUST at any bar or club in Chile and there were many a Chile trip reunion dance parties to this song!

Second Runner Up
Title: Jai Ho
Artist: A.R. Rahman

Honorable Mention
Title: Dance Like This
Artist: Wyclef Jean Ft. Claudette Ortiz

This is the version from the movie Dirty Dancing 2: Havana Nights. I love me some Shakira, but I love this version more than her version!

Leave a Reply

