It’s Always Sunny in… Washington, DC?

Posted on Updated on

(ORIGINAL POST DATE: January 5, 2011)

DC gets an unusual amount of sun for me. I can’t really remember the last overcast day. I think it was a few weeks ago. I am creeped out by this.

When it’s sunny all of the time, I feel like I need to be doing something. This is probably stemming from the fact that I grew up in a town that rarely had sunny days and when we did, it was a yard work or outside activity day. So sitting inside after work and reading or watching TV or working out inside when it is constantly sunny outside makes me feel like a bad person. I mean, it’s not warm out, so it’s not like I want to spend loads of time outside. I just feel like I need to be.

There is something about rainy days. They have this special feeling about them that I really enjoy. I love the sound of rain. It’s cleansing. I like how green everything is after it rains. It’s beautiful. Everything looks healthy. I miss snow too. I am used to having 3-5 months of snow, if not more. It doesn’t even feel like winter here. I mean, yes, it is cold. But it’s sunny every day. I’m not a fan of that weather. It’s not enough winter for me.

Oh well….

 

UPDATE: California weather has me very confused with my yearly time-line. I feel like I’m in this constant state of fluctuation between March/April and September/October. What is happening?! Why does it feel like spring when the leaves are just changing and the calendar says January! WHY!

Leave a Reply

